Dr Asim Hussain nominated as member of EAC


By National Courier:

KARACHI: Newly formed coalition government in a bid to review and formulate economic policies in a more holistic manner has established Economic Advisory Council (EAC). Dr. Asim Hussain, former Petroleum Minister and senior leader of Pakistan Peoples’ Party has been appointed as member of Economic Advisory Council (EAC) constituted by Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif.

According to Dr. Imtiaz Ahmad, Economic Advisor Government of Pakistan Finance Division (Economic Adviser’s Wing) EAC shall be chaired by Prime Minister. Composition of Economic Advisory Council shall be as Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Ahsan Iqbal Chaudhary, Miftah Ismail, Saleem Mandviwalla, Ms. Marriyum Aurangzeb, Dr. Ayesha Ghous Pasha, Musaddiq Malik, Tariq Pasha, Mian Muhammad Mansha, Mohammad Ali Tabba, Arif Habib, Dr. Asim Hussain, Atif Bajwa, Faisal Farid, Aurangzeb, HBL, Waqar Ahmad Malik, MD/CEO Fauji Foundation, Salman Ahmed, Shahzad Salim, Rahman Naseem, Musaddaq Zulqarnain and Dr. Ijaz Nabi.

EAC will initially meet once a week (virtually/in person). Specific sub-committees will be formed for focused work with timelines and defined scope. EAC may co-opt any other member as per requirement.

Terms of Reference for EAC are that EAC will advise on short-term macro-economic stabilisation as well as structural reforms for stable and sustained economic progress. EAC will be convened on weekly basis on issues of national economic importance.